How do I get an endorsement?
There are two written and two skills tests that need to be passed in order to receive your Washington motorcycle endorsement.
To take and pass these tests there are a few options:
Class Options: Our Basic Rider and Intermediate Rider Courses include endorsement testing in the class. With this option, students will participate in the classroom activities and are provided with a motorcycle during testing. It is strongly recommended for brand new riders to take the non-endorsement Pre-Basic Rider Course before taking our Basic Rider Course, in order to get more experience riding.
Testing Only: If you have your own motorcycle, and only need to take the tests, we offer endorsement testing Fridays at our Totem Lake location. Tests are $50 each, for a total of $200. Learn more on our DOL Testing Page.
How old do you have to be to do endorsement testing?
Riders 18 and older may take the motorcycle knowledge and riding skills tests to receive a motorcycle endorsement.
Riders under 18 must take and pass an approved motorcycle safety course before applying for an endorsement. Parent/guardian consent is required to register for the course and apply for the endorsement.
How old do I have to be to take a motorcycle class?
Since a driver’s license is required to receive a motorcycle endorsement, we recommend students be old enough to get their license within 180 days of taking the course. In Washington State, 16 is the minimum age to receive a driver’s license.
Can I take a class without having a WA state driver’s license?
Yes. You can still take the course “for practice” and receive a completion card, but we cannot add the endorsement to the license.
Where does skills/knowledge testing take place?
Skills/knowledge testing is only available at our Totem Lake location.
Can I take tests at the DOL or would I have to go through the school?
Tests must be taken at the school, as the DOL does not offer testing.
How do I sign up for classes?
Visit our registration page to view our full calendar.
If I sign up for a class and a sooner one becomes available, can I switch?
Yes, please call our office to switch.
Do you have a notification system that will tell me when classes are available?
Please subscribe to our mailing list to be notified of new classes when they are offered.
Why don’t I see any classes on the calendar? Are they booked?
Only classes with availability appear on the calendar. If a class doesn’t appear, it means it has filled and is no longer accepting registrations.
I added the class to my cart but it wouldn’t let me checkout. What happened?
Occasionally, when multiple people are trying to check out at once, the class will fill before your registration is processed.
What if I fail the test?
You will need to wait at least 24 hours to schedule a time to re-test (as required by the DOL) and pay re-testing fees.
What happens after I pass?
After three business days you may go online to add the endorsement to your driver’s license, or do it in person at the Department of Licensing.
Do you provide training for scooters?
Yes, at our Totem Lake facility. See our scooter page for more information.
Is there a waitlist for classes?